March 13, 2013


Bro. Eli and Ang Dating Daan, Finalists for Shorty Awards 2013

It is always a delight for Bro. Eliseo Soriano to share God's words. The International Evangelist at a Bible Exposition in the Philippines.
Host of Ang Dating Daan Bro. Eli Soriano sharing a smile with guests at a Bible Exposition in the Philippines.

The Shorty Awards recently announced the finalists to its annual search for the best Twitter writers globally where the Twitter accounts of Bro. Eliseo F. Soriano and Ang Dating Daan (The Old Path) are now shortlisted to win the top prize.

The International Evangelist emerged as finalist for the Blogger and Philippines categories, while his religious program, Ang Dating Daan earned a slot in the TV Show category. The Shortys will pick the best and most popular Twitter personality or brand among the six shortlisted finalists in each categories.

Vox Populi award or the most popular in each of the categories have been announced at the site while the best of each categories for the 5th Annual “Oscars for Twitter” will be announced on April 8, 7:30 PM (EST) via

Teen idol Ranz Kyle Viniel E. earned the top spot with the most number of votes under the Philippines category. Completing the list of finalists include Bro. Eli and a slew of talented young artists like Julie Anne San Jose, Kathryn Bernardo, Daniel Padilla, and Julia Montes.

Meanwhile, The Old Path’s Tagalog Twitter handle, @AngDatingDaanTV, took sixth place in the TV Show category. The ABC show, Pretty Little Liars, took the number one spot besting other hit American programs like Married to Jonas, The Vampire Diaries, My Little Pony and Teen Wolf.

The Shorty Awards honors the best producers of “real-time short content across Twitter, Facebook, Tumblr, YouTube, Foursquare and the rest of the social web.” (Links to About Shorty Awards) The New York Times calls the Shorty Awards as the Oscars for Twitter.

For 2013, Shorty Awards added a Vox Populi or “voice of the people” distinction. Winners of Shorty Awards will be selected by the Real-Time Academy of Short Form Arts & Sciences.

For the full list of finalists, please see here.

(Written by Rigor Arellano)

(Photography by Rovic Balunsay)

Related topics